Babar Azam failed to touch Sangakkara only for a few run


He wanted to play the ball of Akil Hossain on the leg side. However, he got confused, the ball hit the edge of the bat and went to Akil. As a result, Babar Azam had to stop for 77 runs. The Pakistani captain could have shared Kumar Sangakkara's record if he could have scored just 23 more runs in that match in Multan.

Legendary Sri Lankan cricketer Sangakkara set a unique record of scoring four consecutive ODI centuries in the 2015 World Cup. He has shown incredible continuity in that World Cup. In the same World Cup, cricket fans saw four consecutive centuries against four different opponents.

Although the record of four consecutive centuries has not been touched, Babur has set another record in the first ODI of the series. Babur has scored two consecutive centuries against Australia before scoring his first ODI century against the West Indies. As a result, he is the only batsman to score three consecutive centuries.

The record of scoring three consecutive centuries in ODIs is very old and many have done so. It started with the bat of Zaheer Abbas of Pakistan. Zaheer scored a century in the second, third and fourth ODIs of the ODI series against India from December 1982 to January 1983.

After Zaheer, many more have signed up for this club. Saeed Anwar, Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, Ross Taylor and Kumar Sangakkara have scored three centuries in a row. Babar joined this club in 2016. Then there are Johnny Bairstow, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. Which was repeated by Babar.