Rs 20 crore prize money for Gujarat Titans


brand-new franchise On Sunday night, Gujarat Titans made Indian Premier League history by defeating Rajasthan Royals in the league's inaugural season's final by a score of seven wickets in Ahmedabad. During the post-final award event, the triumph came with a huge prize of Rs 20 crore.

For those who were unable to watch the championship game, Gujarat's elite bowling unit, led by captain Hardik Pandya (3/17), after losing the toss, held the Royals' powerful batting unit to 130 for nine.

Shubman Gill and David Miller remained unbroken on 45 and 32, respectively, to complete an overwhelming victory for their team as they pursued the subpar but challenging total.

RR had to accept the runners-up cheque of Rs 12.5 crore despite making it to the final for the first time since winning the competition in the maiden IPL edition in 2008.

The third-placed Royal Challengers Bangalore, who lost to RR in Qualifier 2 by seven wickets, received a check for Rs. 7 crore, and the fourth-placed Lucknow Super Giants, who lost to RCB in the Eliminator, received Rs. 6.5 crore.

With both teams averaging 10 points per game, the Royals and Titans also shared first place in the Fair Play Award.

Jos Buttler, the tournament's top batsman who also contributed to the team's highest score of the day with 39-run innings, won the Orange Cap for RR with an overall total of 863 runs, more than 250 runs more than second-best KL Rahul (616). Along with the headgear, the 31-year-old Englishman received a check for Rs. 10 lakh.

Yuzvendra Chahal of RR received the purple hat and a check for Rs 10 lakh after finishing the season with 27 wickets.

Buttler wasn't finished for the evening, as he went on to win numerous honors, including Most Valuable Player of the Season, Most Sixes in the Season, Game Changer of the Season, Most Fours in the Season, and Powerplayer of the Season for his exceptional batting achievements during the season. Buttler received Rs 60 lakh in total as season reward money, with each accolade worth Rs 10 lakh.

With his one-handed blinder against the Kolkata Knight Riders, LSG's Evin Lewis received the Best Catch of the Season honor among other individuals. The West Indian received a 10 lakh rupee check.

Foreign pacer Lockie Ferguson of the Titans saved the fastest delivery of the competition for the championship match, surpassing Umran Akmal's 157 kmph with a 157.3 kmph on Sunday night to win the trophy and a Rs 10 lakh check. Not to mention, he won the match's prize for the fastest delivery (Rs 1 lakh).

But Akmal came away from the event with something, as he was named the Emerging Player of the Season (Rs 10 lakh).

Dinesh Karthik of RCB earned the Super Striker Award and a TATA Punch car at the awards ceremony for ending the season with a strike rate of 183.33.